Old 01-16-2019, 01:43 AM

Please help me make a good fruit mousse

I'm having a little dinner party with my two best friends on Friday, and I have an obstinate idea in my head that I want to make a fruit mousse for dessert. I've never done it before.

I know what ingredients I'll be using; the part I'm unclear on is the order of assembly.

I will be using:

Some apricot goo of medium consistency that I got by simmering some dried apricots and sugar in nectar and then whipping;

Some heavy whipping cream; and

A couple egg whites whipped with a bit of cream tartar.

So, do I whip the egg whites until stiff first, then fold in the apricot goo? Whip egg whites and goo together?

I plan on whipping the heavy cream separately & folding whatever happens with the fruit goo into that.

I would appreciate hearing from the voice of experience.
Old 01-16-2019, 08:21 AM
Charter Member

Hmm, the closest I've come to making a fruit mousse is a chilled souffle. This one is lemon, but it'd probably be not too hard to use your apricot goo instead. I can attest that recipe is delicious - it's from Cook's Illustrated originally (which still has it, but their version is behind a pay wall) and I've made it many times.
Old 01-16-2019, 12:07 PM

I think your initial inclination was good
Whip the egg whites
Fold goo into whipped egg whites
Whip the heavy cream
Fold cream into goo-hybrid

This would be fine for a mousse that is being served same day. Otherwise you might need a stabilizer of some sort, gelatin etc.
Old 01-16-2019, 12:40 PM

Shouldn't you whip sugar into the egg whites to make a meringue and then fold the goo into that?
Old 01-16-2019, 12:41 PM

I've got a fantastic strawberry mousse recipe that I've made many times. I think you could easily adapt it for your apricot goo (which sounds delicious, by the way!).