Old 03-18-2017, 08:46 AM
Charter Member

getting faint during public speaking (after 30years of doing it)

I've been a teacher; I've given scientific talks; I've been in front of crowds talking for a 30 years. (not everyday now, but about once a month or two). A year ago I interviewed for a job and had to give a presentation about myself. BAM! it hit me, two minutes into the talk. I was confused, nervous, sweaty, and faint. I had to sit down and apologize to continue. THis had never happened before.

Over the last year, it happened the next 2 or 3 times again....where I had to sit down, and even had to stop once completely. I thought I had it licked, a few months ago when I was able to get through my talks with little problem.

Then, it happened again....yesterday. It pisses me off to no end. I'm a professional. I've done this for decades. I know what I'm talking about.

I'm grasping at straws, maybe its the recent increase in my Simvastatin medication,..no....maybe?...probably not. Maybe my workout regimen is taking its toll, but that doesn't seem any different than previous years

More importantly.....any advice on how I can control these events?
Old 03-18-2017, 09:01 AM

No advice but I feel for you. Just the fact that you have done this for years successfully and now suddenly you are struggling I find worthy of investigation. Are you having self doubts about yourself or your program? Are you feeling the strain of young new professionals nipping at your heels? These might be some emotional aspects you could look at. I know I have suffered from this but I never have been a professional speaker.
Old 03-18-2017, 04:34 PM

After 30 years, you now get faint and confused when standing stationary for more than a couple of minutes?

Yes, statins may lower blood pressure. Or you may have some other problem.

Last edited by Melbourne; 03-18-2017 at 04:35 PM.
Old 03-18-2017, 05:44 PM

Definitely rule out the physical. A few other thoughts.