Old 07-18-2019, 02:18 PM

Do you buy/read RPG supplements for fun?

I brought this up in the Watchya Reading thread and thought it might be an interesting question. I buy and read lots of RPG manuals and books for games I will probably never play. I haven't played a non PC RPG since the 90s but I have dozens of rule and source books for Gurps, D&D and other games because I enjoy reading about settings, Characters etc. Does any one else do this?
Old 07-18-2019, 02:27 PM
Charter Member

I have Paranoia, Star Wars, James Bond 007, TMNT, Top Secret, GURPS Autoduel, and maybe some I'm forgetting.

I had planned to start up an RPG BBS...

Last edited by Skywatcher; 07-18-2019 at 02:28 PM.
Old 07-18-2019, 02:57 PM

Of course!

I bought Way Of The Dragon for the Book Of Five Rings system even though I have no experience with that system. The book had a neat cover, looked interesting on flip through, and was only a dollar. I read it and loved it and found much I could use in D&D, or Masquerade. Then, I loaned it to a friend who lost it (or so he claims*). I found another copy for $7 at a going out of business sale.

I bought a module for Dark Conspiracy at a sale. It looked like fun. I own no other products from Dark Conspiracy.

I bought Lords Of Chaos at a stop at roadside bookstore. It's a wonderful book even though I own no other Runequest (or is it Heroquest) products.

* Said individual still has my copies of Way Of The Dragon, 2nd ed D&D Manual Of The Planes, and the novel Fat White Vampire Blues. I've gotten new copies of the books. My trust is lost forever.
Old 07-18-2019, 02:59 PM
Corellian Nerfherder

I've bought four different editions of the GURPS rulebook. I've never played a game of GURPS; I just enjoy reading them.