Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2019, 12:26 PM
pkbites's Avatar
pkbites is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Majikal Land O' Cheeze!
Posts: 10,922

Did my cheap little phone get hacked or what?


I have an LG 441G cell phone. (Yes I have a flip phone. Get over yourself. I donít know why everyone has a conniption over what kind of phone I have. I can call the past on this thing!)

Anyway, Iíve had it for a couple of years now.

This morning I awoke to several voice mails, texts, and emails asking me ďWhat the fuck, Pete?Ē

It seems all night and morning my phone has been continuously calling the numbers on my speed dial list. My wife, my brothers, my sister, my friends, and the dispatcher at the police department I work at!

When they answer the call all they hear is an echo of their voice.

The phone has been sitting on my night stand, flipped closed, all night. I actually saw it light up and call one of the numbers by itself, even thought the phone was flipped closed and shouldnít have been able to make a call with the key pad covered.

Has my phone gone nuts, has it been hacked, or has the system been hacked? Can a cheap assed flip phone even be hacked?

The service is Straight Talk. WTF is going on? I have removed the battery until I figure this out.
  #2  
Old 08-12-2019, 01:50 PM
Darren Garrison's Avatar
Darren Garrison is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11,304
I would guess that a weird hardware failure is much more likely than a hacking--that phone has some proprietary LG OS that is unlikely to have anyone hacking it. Use this as an opportunity to get a new phone now instead of 4 months from now. What's that, you don't want a new phone? Your phone is 3G. Straight Talk uses Verizon's system. Verizon is shutting down their 3G network at the end of 2019. You're getting a new phone.
  #3  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:03 PM
cochrane is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Nekkid Pueblo
Posts: 21,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Garrison View Post
I would guess that a weird hardware failure is much more likely than a hacking--that phone has some proprietary LG OS that is unlikely to have anyone hacking it. Use this as an opportunity to get a new phone now instead of 4 months from now. What's that, you don't want a new phone? Your phone is 3G. Straight Talk uses Verizon's system. Verizon is shutting down their 3G network at the end of 2019. You're getting a new phone.
Actually, Straight Talk uses all four major carriers, AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, and T-Mobile. Well, three I guess now, with the Sprint-T-mobile merger.

https://bizfluent.com/info-12202248-...-talk-use.html

I know when I've had Straight Talk in the past, I've used AT&T on both iOS and Android devices.
  #4  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:25 PM
Atamasama's Avatar
Atamasama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Garrison View Post
I would guess that a weird hardware failure is much more likely than a hacking--that phone has some proprietary LG OS that is unlikely to have anyone hacking it. Use this as an opportunity to get a new phone now instead of 4 months from now.
Yeah, this. This isn’t even exclusive to old phones, I’ve run into this supporting newer smart phones as well.

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads...aling.1982081/

https://androidforums.com/threads/ph...-calls.135969/

If you had a smart phone I’d recommend an update and/or wipe to see if it might resolve a software issue. With a more basic phone there’s probably not much more you can do than replace it.

Last edited by Atamasama; 08-12-2019 at 02:25 PM.
  #5  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:26 PM
Omar Little's Avatar
Omar Little is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Within
Posts: 13,034
Sounds like more of a malfunction than a hacking.
  #6  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:39 PM
pkbites's Avatar
pkbites is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Majikal Land O' Cheeze!
Posts: 10,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Garrison View Post
I would guess that a weird hardware failure is much more likely than a hacking--that phone has some proprietary LG OS that is unlikely to have anyone hacking it. Use this as an opportunity to get a new phone now instead of 4 months from now. What's that, you don't want a new phone? Your phone is 3G. Straight Talk uses Verizon's system. Verizon is shutting down their 3G network at the end of 2019. You're getting a new phone.
No, it usually connects to A.T.&T.

And your link is crazy. Nobody would pay that much. These phones are $29 at Walmart.

So Iím guessing the phone itself is funked up.

Is there any way to transfer my contact list from it to a new phone? Dong it manually could take forever!
  #7  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:45 PM
Atamasama's Avatar
Atamasama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,744
LG has software called LG Suite, I believe you can remotely manage phone info from it, including backing up and transferring contact info:
https://www.lg.com/us/support/help-l...20150108669720

There is an LG Bridge program for newer phones but I’m guessing your flip phone needs the older one. Here it is in case:
https://www.lg.com/us/support/help-l...-1438110404543
  #8  
Old 08-13-2019, 01:18 AM
The Librarian's Avatar
The Librarian is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Delft
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkbites View Post
(...)



Is there any way to transfer my contact list from it to a new phone? Dong it manually could take forever!

Back in the day you could copy your contacts onto the SIM-card. Does that work on your phone?
__________________
Oook!
  #9  
Old 08-13-2019, 05:34 AM
pkbites's Avatar
pkbites is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Majikal Land O' Cheeze!
Posts: 10,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atamasama View Post
LG has software called LG Suite, I believe you can remotely manage phone info from it, including backing up and transferring contact info:
https://www.lg.com/us/support/help-l...20150108669720
Download doesn't open.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Librarian View Post
Back in the day you could copy your contacts onto the SIM-card. Does that work on your phone?
Phone doesn't have a sim card.
  #10  
Old 08-13-2019, 01:00 PM
EinsteinsHund's Avatar
EinsteinsHund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NRW, Germany
Posts: 2,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkbites View Post
Phone doesn't have a sim card.
It has to have one, or else you couldn't make calls. I guess you're confusing it with an sd card. And yes, it's possible to save contacts on the sim card and so transfer them with your card to a new phone.
__________________
And if my thought-dreams could be seen
Theyíd probably put my head in a guillotine

Last edited by EinsteinsHund; 08-13-2019 at 01:00 PM.
  #11  
Old 08-13-2019, 03:57 PM
ftg's Avatar
ftg is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Not the PNW :-(
Posts: 19,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by EinsteinsHund View Post
It has to have one, or else you couldn't make calls. I guess you're confusing it with an sd card. And yes, it's possible to save contacts on the sim card and so transfer them with your card to a new phone.
A. No, a cell phone doesn't have to have one. Verizon (CDMA) in particular was notorious for selling ones without them. They were prodded into agreeing to put them in future phones by the FCC due to 4G spectrum upgrades. Now the FCC is undoing that. And they weren't the only ones.

B. The cell phone in the OP does have one.
  #12  
Old 08-13-2019, 04:05 PM
pkbites's Avatar
pkbites is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Majikal Land O' Cheeze!
Posts: 10,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by EinsteinsHund View Post
It has to have one, or else you couldn't make calls. I guess you're confusing it with an sd card. And yes, it's possible to save contacts on the sim card and so transfer them with your card to a new phone.
Díoh! Youíre right. I was thinking SD card, which it indeed doesnít have.

I have to get a new phone, pronto. This one is now calling every number in my contact list, and the ear piece is going in and out. Sometimes when I make callers I canít hear the person on the other end.
Itís like it is possessed! It just dialed the number to someone I havenít called in over a year because they are dead!
  #13  
Old 08-13-2019, 04:11 PM
Darren Garrison's Avatar
Darren Garrison is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11,304
If they answer, you have worse phone problems than we suspected.
  #14  
Old 08-13-2019, 10:31 PM
pkbites's Avatar
pkbites is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Majikal Land O' Cheeze!
Posts: 10,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Garrison View Post
If they answer, you have worse phone problems than we suspected.
Unless it was my friend himself who possessed the phone. He had the most brilliant sense of humor and the biggest, friendliest smile of any grown man you ever met. And he hated how everyone was always on their cell phones. If he could Iím sure he would prank me this way!
  #15  
Old 08-13-2019, 11:23 PM
Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 61,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkbites View Post
Dong it manually could take forever!
It's faster if you use your fingers.
  #16  
Old 08-14-2019, 11:06 AM
The Librarian's Avatar
The Librarian is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Delft
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftg View Post
A. No, a cell phone doesn't have to have one. Verizon (CDMA) in particular was notorious for selling ones without them. They were prodded into agreeing to put them in future phones by the FCC due to 4G spectrum upgrades. Now the FCC is undoing that. And they weren't the only ones.



B. The cell phone in the OP does have one.


I know US cel-phones work differently. I have no idea how. Is there any way for me to use your phone on my own contract?
__________________
Oook!
  #17  
Old 08-14-2019, 11:08 AM
cochrane is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Nekkid Pueblo
Posts: 21,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Librarian View Post
I know US cel-phones work differently. I have no idea how. Is there any way for me to use your phone on my own contract?
Sure, if you switch out the phone's SIM card with yours. Some phones even have slots for dual SIMs.
  #18  
Old 08-14-2019, 11:19 AM
cochrane is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Nekkid Pueblo
Posts: 21,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by cochrane View Post
Sure, if you switch out the phone's SIM card with yours. Some phones even have slots for dual SIMs.
That is, if the phone is unlocked, of course, and the SIMs are compatible. In the U.S., most unlocked phones work on both AT&T and T-Mobile, which are GSM carriers.

Last edited by cochrane; 08-14-2019 at 11:20 AM.
  #19  
Old 08-15-2019, 02:10 PM
erysichthon's Avatar
erysichthon is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftg View Post
A. No, a cell phone doesn't have to have one. Verizon (CDMA) in particular was notorious for selling ones without them. They were prodded into agreeing to put them in future phones by the FCC due to 4G spectrum upgrades. Now the FCC is undoing that. And they weren't the only ones.
I have a CDMA phone. I've had people get very irritated when I say "my phone doesn't a SIM card." They act as if I've told them that my car doesn't have wheels.
  #20  
Old 08-15-2019, 02:31 PM
Atamasama's Avatar
Atamasama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by erysichthon View Post
I have a CDMA phone. I've had people get very irritated when I say "my phone doesn't a SIM card." They act as if I've told them that my car doesn't have wheels.
http://www.fubiz.net/en/2015/10/15/e...ithout-wheels/

Maybe eventually.
  #21  
Old 08-15-2019, 05:10 PM
Darren Garrison's Avatar
Darren Garrison is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by erysichthon View Post
I have a CDMA phone. I've had people get very irritated when I say "my phone doesn't a SIM card." They act as if I've told them that my car doesn't have wheels.
You mean "my car doesn't wheels"?
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright © 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017