Old 09-28-2019, 02:15 PM

Resident Evil has disappointed me for years!

I started playing the franchise back in the '90s. I think the 2002 remake is still one of the scariest games ever made. In recent years however, I've found myself eager to quit the series as it has gone and ended up so bad.

The thing that gets to me sometimes, is that RE4 ain't really a true RE sequel. When the game starts, all you get is a brief story about the Umbrella Corporation no longer existing, and the other games essentially set up some major confrontation, that later on only occurred in a bland, on-rails, co-op spin-off game. The rest of the game is you playing a secret agent (as in, he's really the cop from RE2 named Leon) as he kills villagers and monsters, and he also flogs jewels to some weird merchant guy. It bearly feels like a proper RE game, and RE5 and 6 were worse, as they had no scary moments, and just violent scenes for what came across as cheaper than chips, shock value.

When Capcom made Revelations 2, I was happy that it was a return to form, and it was awesome to play as Barry Burton at last. Then later on, I found out it kind of ripped off The Last of Us, so my opinion of it has been lowered somewhat. 7 on the other hand, was a mess, with boring, one-note monsters and a possessed family, chasing after a generic guy that had no real purpose. Capcom have also made Chris Redfield look so stupid, and he works for Umbrella, who are back now and seemingly acting all nicey nice. He hardly looks like Chris from RE5 and 6 at all, but why the hell would Chris side with Umbrella? What a load of meh, really.

All in all, the 2010s has giving us some truly great horror games, but it also has had some pretty sucky ones too.
Old 09-28-2019, 02:45 PM