Old 09-21-2018, 10:27 AM

How plausible is my pet theory that our universe is inside a black hole?

I'm no scientist. I have done no special research.

But I have a pet theory (I might have read it somewhere) that our universe exists inside a black hole. It answers the questions of "what came before the Big Bang?" (the collapse of a star) and "what exists outside our universe?" (another universe). And it would seem to account for why all of the elements for life derive from stars (the ole' idea that "we are stardust").

And, it offers the tantalizing prospect of answering what it's like inside the black holes we see in our own universe. Yes, it's black holes all the way down (and fits with my other non-scientific science theory that the universe is teeming with life, although it is so damn big - or we are so damn small - that we have simply never encountered it. We're the proverbial ant hill in an abandoned parking lot wondering if there are other ants across the street in the grassy park - dude, ants are everywhere, but how can an ant even begin to conceive of all of those other habitats?)

While I enjoy my theory - what's wrong with it? Why is it eye-rollingly bad? What fundamentals am I missing?

Please debunk this theory.
Old 09-21-2018, 10:38 AM
Charter Member

I'm no scientists myself, so I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will have a better critique of your theory.

Something I see wrong with your theory is that our universe is expanding. If we were "inside" a hole, then it should appear to us the universe is contracting. And we still haven't addressed: Where did the universe come from that made the star that eventually died and became a black hole that somehow created this universe?

Your theory appears to be using circular logic.

Last edited by Grrr!; 09-21-2018 at 10:40 AM.
Old 09-21-2018, 10:44 AM