Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2019, 10:30 PM
Daylate is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,612

Another Excel question: Tools-Options-etc.


I've got a little problem with my beloved Excel 2003. I almost always set up the option in the Tools menu to hide all zeros. Keeps a lot of useless hay off of the spread sheet. However, my Excel 2003 insists on defaulting back to the "show all zeros" case each time the file is closed, so I have to go into the tools - options menu and re choose the option of hide all zeros each time I reopen the spread sheet.

Is there any method of making Hidden Zeros the default option? I would be very grateful for any advice anyone can give - it would save a lot of keystrokes,

BTW, I must warn you. If anyone gives the advice that I should upgrade to a newer version of Excel, you will have the hatred of a thousand suns focused on your defenseless computer, and it will immediately melt into a pool of radioactive sludge! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
  #2  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:09 AM
OldGuy is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Very east of Foggybog, WI
Posts: 5,294
I assume you know that "hide all zeroes" works a the sheet level and not workbook level so you must hide them for each sheet. And I assume you're doing the 2003 equivalent of
File
Options
Advanced
in Display options for this worksheet:
untick "show a zero ...."

That is saved for me and applied on a reopen.

And I assume you are saving the file and it is nor write protected.

If you still can't get it to work, you might try writing a macro that runs automatically upon opening the workbook. I'd think you could record the steps you want, then put the the commands

Sub Auto_Open()

End Sub

around the actual commands you want executed in the Visual Basic section

Last edited by OldGuy; 06-12-2019 at 12:10 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-12-2019, 01:38 PM
Tim@T-Bonham.net is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 14,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daylate View Post
BTW, I must warn you. If anyone gives the advice that I should upgrade to a newer version of Excel, you will have the hatred of a thousand suns focused on your defenseless computer, and it will immediately melt into a pool of radioactive sludge! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
Of course not.
Anyone with sense will recommend that you upgrade to Libre Office, and their Calc spreadsheet program. And it's free!
  #4  
Old 06-14-2019, 02:08 AM
Melbourne is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,957
AIR, when you open a new spreadsheet, it uses the template spreadsheet as a template

What you might want to do is open the template spreadsheet, set it to hide zeros, and save it.

(Please don't shoot me if I'm wrong.)

Last edited by Melbourne; 06-14-2019 at 02:09 AM.
  #5  
Old 06-14-2019, 03:39 AM
TokyoBayer's Avatar
TokyoBayer is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 10,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daylate;21693535BTW
I must warn you. If anyone gives the advice that I should upgrade to a newer version of Excel, you will have the hatred of a thousand suns focused on your defenseless computer, and it will immediately melt into a pool of radioactive sludge! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
I would love to go back to an earlier version of Excel.

It should be easy to write the macro. If not, don't all of the menus have keyboard shortcuts? It should only be a couple of keystrokes.

(I don’t use Excel that much anymore, but at least some of the shortcuts are still supported by later versions. So Alt+E then “s” then “v” will do a paste special, “value”. )

Last edited by TokyoBayer; 06-14-2019 at 03:41 AM.
  #6  
Old 06-14-2019, 01:16 PM
Daylate is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,612
Thanks for your answers. Will have to think on this a bit. You know, I never once thought of the keyboard shortcuts. I'm getting old!
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 07:15 AM
albino_manatee's Avatar
albino_manatee is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: enceladus-prime, nibiru
Posts: 224
for those unaware don't get too friendly with macros the newer versions of ms-office may/mayn't arrive with macros disabled macros should be disabled by default. having macros enabled can allow malicious code to run code which may be downloaded (from malevolent sources) without the operator's knowledge. with regard to cites just 'google' the following parameters (without quotes): " ms office disable macros "

fwiw, for those running mac-osx "numbers" comes preinstalled (free) on later models it opens *.xlsx and *.xlsm files works like a champ. and "pages" (also free) works with *.docx documents.
__________________
at one point in time, i was offered a wooden scīpiō (handstaff) after a time, i slowly 'n methodically whittled that cane down until it became one ginormous toothpick.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017