Old 05-13-2019, 04:45 PM
Charter Member

Inspiring movies about other sciences?

I'm a substitute teacher. Today, I was teaching science, and the plans called for me to show the class Apollo 13. OK, that's not a bad movie for a science class, since it's an inspiring true story about sciency stuff... but it was a biology class.

And thinking about it, rocket science has a lot of movies like that: Off the top of my head, in addition to Apollo 13, you've also got October Sky and Hidden Figures, among others. And there are plenty of fictional movies that work, too.

But where are the inspiring true stories of biologists? There are probably some good stories to tell from the front lines of the fight against smallpox, for instance. Or chemistry?

Any suggestions?
Old 05-13-2019, 04:51 PM

I think "The Martian" covers a lot of different science areas: chemistry, botany, as well as astro-physics.

"The Andromeda Strain" comes to mind as a good biology example. Maybe even "World War Z" as well.
Old 05-13-2019, 05:09 PM
2018 Midterm Prediction Winner

It'd be nice if this were a real documentary.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1iCZpFMYd0

These might be decent. I believe they're both on youtube.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6256972/

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1950178/

Last edited by Wesley Clark; 05-13-2019 at 05:10 PM.
Old 05-13-2019, 05:51 PM

"Gorillas in the Mist" is kind of biology related.
Old 05-13-2019, 05:58 PM
You mean he's STILL here?
Charter Member

Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge and the 1943 biopic, Madame Curie.

Fortunately, the timelines of both films end a good deal earlier than Madame Curie's actual timeline.
Old 05-13-2019, 06:02 PM

Cancer: The Emperor of All Maladies may be bit longer than you're looking for, but this three-part 6-hour series is excellent.

Or you could go with the 2 hour Nova episode What Darwin Never Knew (1st aired in 2009) which discusses Darwin and places his work in context with what we now know about DNA.