Old 06-07-2019, 12:12 PM

It's 2019 - what do you do for a living, and how has that changed since Y2K?

I'm still a programmer, but I now work on web applications, mostly front-end work (but a little back end)

I am allowed to WFH occasionally, but I don't very much because I have a harder time concentrating on work when I'm at home. In 2000, working from home was almost unheard of, and I don't think there were any web applications out there - certainly there were web pages, but they were for the most part static? (Wow, Amazon has been around since 1998)

What do y'all do today, and how has it changed in the past ~20 years?
Old 06-07-2019, 12:50 PM
Charter Member

In 2000 I had just left my job of 15 years as a compiler and library programmer for a major HW/SW manufacturer, eventually becoming a project leader. I left for a start up doing Internet consulting, I was the 13th employee. With so few people there I did a bit of everything; client interaction, budgeting, architecture, coding, etc.

Now I'm back with a large HW/SW company, as a project manager on security software.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:01 PM

I was a teacher back in 2000, now I fly airplanes.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:16 PM

Bum then, bum now. I got a bigger TV.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Charter Member

Lol, I delivered phone books. Now am running an insurance agency.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:27 PM

2000 Administering the agent training program for a 5 state region of a major insurance company

2019 Working at a plaintiff law firm that targets major insurance companies.
Pretty much nuked the bridge back to insurance land with that move.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:36 PM

No change at all. The application I work with has evolved (they are always adding new features and functions) and I have expanded my knowledge of the various functional modules. But I am doing fundamentally the same job with the same product in the same way as when I started back in the late 90's.

What can I say, I like variety.
Old 06-07-2019, 01:41 PM