Old 06-11-2019, 11:33 AM

Favorite Drinks (or Foods) for Unusual Reasons

When I was a freshman in college, my Honors Comp and Lit professor assigned James Baldwin's short story "Sonny's Blues" about a jazz pianist. It concludes with this passage:

Quote:
There was a long pause, while they talked up there in the indigo light and after awhile I saw the girl put a Scotch and milk on top of the piano for Sonny. He didn't seem to notice it, but just before they started playing again, he sipped from it and looked toward me, and nodded. Then he put it back on top of the piano. For me, then, as they began to play again, it glowed and shook above my brother's head like the very cup of trembling.
Some of the students questioned the phrase "cup of trembling," as well as the unusual composition of the drink. The former question was answered rather quickly by the next class period with a nod to Cruden's Concordance (this being before the days of searchable text), but the inclusion of Scotch and milk found itself more perplexing. As I looked 21 at the time, I did a fair amount of field research on the question, and the professor and I concluded that it had something to do with mixing the bitter and the pure, as well as the appearance that the drinker may well just be drinking milk. Later that year, Clint Eastwood's film biography of Charlie Parker (Bird) came out, and both the professor and I had what was probably the definitive answer: Scotch and milk was (ostensibly) Charlie Parker's drink, and Sonny was drinking it (along with shooting heroin) in emulation of his hero. Subsequently, after years of ordering Scotch and milk to the bewilderment of all but the most grizzled bartenders, I discovered that it was the drink of grizzled alcoholics who could only tolerate liquor if cushioned by dairy. I had been sending quite the message, it seems. I don't have it as often these days, even though I look the part a good deal more than I did at 19.

Two things: