Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2018, 05:09 PM
engineer_comp_geek's Avatar
engineer_comp_geek engineer_comp_geek is offline
Robot Mod in Beta Testing
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,164
Can't highlight text in Chrome? Read this. [also affects Firefox now]

We have had several threads in ATMB lately about being unable to highlight text, for copying and pasting, for example. This is a bug in Chrome, and is not a problem with the SDMB itself. It is believed that this bug was introduced in the version of Chrome released on 5/26/2018.

For whatever reason, the bug only affects the SDMB Mobile theme (Sultantheme's Responsive vB3-blue).

There are several solutions to this.

1. Switching to the regular theme (Straightdope v3.7.3). The drop-down menu to select the theme is on the lower left side of the page.

2. Use a different browser.

3. Revert to an older version of Chrome.

At the time of this posting, there is no fix for the bug. When a version of Chrome is released that fixes this bug, this thread will be updated.

This thread will remain stickied until the bug has been fixed, most users have the fix, and the information here is no longer relevant.
  #2  
Old 06-24-2018, 05:08 PM
squeegee's Avatar
squeegee squeegee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Aptos CA
Posts: 8,699
Linky to something explaining the implied workaround (change to another board theme, whatever that means) ?
Thanks in advance, this is making me a bit crazypants.
-squee

nm, I just read for comprehension and changed my theme. All better

Last edited by squeegee; 06-24-2018 at 05:11 PM.
  #3  
Old 06-25-2018, 04:15 AM
BigT's Avatar
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: "Hicksville", Ark.
Posts: 35,712
I agree it's a bug in Chrome, but it's also something the Dope could work around. I'm not finding the thread where someone else noticed it (so I can't give them credit), but the problem is that the ::selection CSS pseudoselector is set, but has no content. If you comment out the selector entirely, the problem goes away.

I also mentioned in that thread that this is against the spec that Chrome is supposed to be following, so it will hopefully be fixed.

Edit: it was Kimble who noticed it: https://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb...9#post21036039

Last edited by BigT; 06-25-2018 at 04:17 AM.
  #4  
Old 06-25-2018, 05:19 AM
Aspidistra Aspidistra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,118
Not sure if it's been pointed out yet but also - the bug doesn't prevent you cutting and pasting.

It's supremely annoying that you can't see what you're doing (or, IME, use a mouse swipe) but you can click the start of selection, shift-click the end and from there do all the cut-paste that you might want to do
__________________
It is easier to fall than to climb ... letting go for the fall brings a wonderful feeling of ease and power
- Katherine Kerr Daggerspell
  #5  
Old 06-25-2018, 11:13 AM
Ashtura Ashtura is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,791
Interesting that is is chrome's fault when there are other vBulletin based boards that don't have this issue (v4.2.4 in particular).
  #6  
Old 06-25-2018, 01:53 PM
BigT's Avatar
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: "Hicksville", Ark.
Posts: 35,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashtura View Post
Interesting that is is chrome's fault when there are other vBulletin based boards that don't have this issue (v4.2.4 in particular).
It's not a board version issue, but a theme issue. Chrome is improperly interpreting a bit of custom CSS in the new theme. It's a weird edge case that Chrome probably didn't consider.

As I said, the tech people could remove the bad bit of CSS, but Chrome should also fix their bug.

Last edited by BigT; 06-25-2018 at 01:54 PM.
  #7  
Old 06-30-2018, 12:57 PM
septimus's Avatar
septimus septimus is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Land of Smiles
Posts: 18,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
... As I said, the tech people could remove the bad bit of CSS, but Chrome should also fix their bug.
Situations where TWO bugs combine to produce a failure are not unusual. Start an MPSIMS thread and I'll tell you of a case where THREE bugs combined to make it very easy to crash a Unix kernel.
... And ALL THREE responsible programmers refused to make any of the three trivial patches, any one of which would have prevented future crashes. (It was more fun, I guess, to point fingers at the other bugs! )
  #8  
Old 06-30-2018, 05:10 PM
Hari Seldon Hari Seldon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Trantor
Posts: 12,428
Oddly enough I switched to Chrome because Firefox could not mark a certain page (not SDMB) that I wanted to copy.
  #9  
Old 06-30-2018, 06:36 PM
Sage Rat's Avatar
Sage Rat Sage Rat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Howdy
Posts: 20,896
I don't know if this is related, but the CODE tag also seems to be removing end-of-lines.

Code:
line 1
line 2
line 3
line 4
Everything ends up displaying (for me at least) as being on one line even though I wrote it as four.

This is making it rather difficult to do tables.
  #10  
Old 07-04-2018, 02:21 PM
BigT's Avatar
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: "Hicksville", Ark.
Posts: 35,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sage Rat View Post
I don't know if this is related, but the CODE tag also seems to be removing end-of-lines.

Code:
line 1
line 2
line 3
line 4
Everything ends up displaying (for me at least) as being on one line even though I wrote it as four.

This is making it rather difficult to do tables.
Long known bug in the Sultan theme. Only known workaround is to use the PHP tag instead, and put up with the colors. Old theme is the only way to see CODE tags as intended.

Since Ed isn't in charge anymore, I don't know if we'll get the Sultan theme fixed.

Last edited by BigT; 07-04-2018 at 02:22 PM.
  #11  
Old 07-14-2018, 04:52 AM
septimus's Avatar
septimus septimus is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Land of Smiles
Posts: 18,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Long known bug in the Sultan theme. Only known workaround is to use the PHP tag instead, and put up with the colors. Old theme is the only way to see CODE tags as intended.

Since Ed isn't in charge anymore, I don't know if we'll get the Sultan theme fixed.
The PHP tag has other problems besides colors. The contents of the following two blocks are identical.
PHP Code:
ความ
/Khwām/ 
Code:
ความ
/Khwām/
  #12  
Old 08-04-2018, 10:55 AM
Red Wiggler Red Wiggler is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by engineer_comp_geek View Post
We have had several threads in ATMB lately about being unable to highlight text, for copying and pasting, for example. This is a bug in Chrome, and is not a problem with the SDMB itself. It is believed that this bug was introduced in the version of Chrome released on 5/26/2018.

For whatever reason, the bug only affects the SDMB Mobile theme (Sultantheme's Responsive vB3-blue).

There are several solutions to this.

1. Switching to the regular theme (Straightdope v3.7.3). The drop-down menu to select the theme is on the lower left side of the page.

2. Use a different browser.

3. Revert to an older version of Chrome.

At the time of this posting, there is no fix for the bug. When a version of Chrome is released that fixes this bug, this thread will be updated.

This thread will remain stickied until the bug has been fixed, most users have the fix, and the information here is no longer relevant.
For some reason this just became an issue with my Chrome browser on both my home and work PCs. Switching to regular theme provided the solution, thanks for that, but it is curious why this would turn up out of the blue like that.
  #13  
Old 09-06-2018, 10:05 PM
peccavi's Avatar
peccavi peccavi is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: South Bay, SoCal
Posts: 120
I use Firefox and just popped in here to complain about this issue. Firefox suddenly lost the ability to highlight any text on the SDMB site. Tried Chrome. Same problem. IE was fine (but who wants to be stuck using IE).

Switched themes and everything's fine in both browsers.

It turns out that Firefox updated from version 61 to 62 yesterday. Now the incompatibility that is "the browser's fault" is 2 out of the 3 major browsers.
  #14  
Old 09-07-2018, 10:55 AM
E-DUB's Avatar
E-DUB E-DUB is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by peccavi View Post
I use Firefox and just popped in here to complain about this issue. Firefox suddenly lost the ability to highlight any text on the SDMB site. Tried Chrome. Same problem. IE was fine (but who wants to be stuck using IE).

Switched themes and everything's fine in both browsers.

It turns out that Firefox updated from version 61 to 62 yesterday. Now the incompatibility that is "the browser's fault" is 2 out of the 3 major browsers.
Glad it's not just me. Had major WTF moments over this yesterday.
  #15  
Old 09-07-2018, 02:20 PM
Jonathan Chance Jonathan Chance is offline
Domo Arigato Mister Moderato
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the run with Kilroy
Posts: 22,276
Me, too, believe it or not.
  #16  
Old 09-07-2018, 02:22 PM
Jonathan Chance Jonathan Chance is offline
Domo Arigato Mister Moderato
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the run with Kilroy
Posts: 22,276
I've reported it to the loop for our more tech-savvy mods. That sure ain't me these days.
  #17  
Old 09-10-2018, 10:43 PM
BigT's Avatar
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: "Hicksville", Ark.
Posts: 35,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by peccavi View Post
I use Firefox and just popped in here to complain about this issue. Firefox suddenly lost the ability to highlight any text on the SDMB site. Tried Chrome. Same problem. IE was fine (but who wants to be stuck using IE).

Switched themes and everything's fine in both browsers.

It turns out that Firefox updated from version 61 to 62 yesterday. Now the incompatibility that is "the browser's fault" is 2 out of the 3 major browsers.
That doesn't mean it's not a bug in the browser. It only means that Firefox is likely copying code from Chrome. They do that a lot.

The actual spec says, and I'll quote it this time:
The UA should use the OS-default highlight colors when neither color nor background-color has been specified by the author.
That said, the tech people here could work around this bug. Here's a direct quote from that other thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimble View Post
The relevant part of the stylesheet page in question, stvb3r.css, is here:

PHP Code:
::selection {
   
/* 
   background-color: #e0f2c2;
    color: #4da400;
    */

[...]

Moving the commenting characters to outside the ::selection element -- something like

PHP Code:
/*
::selection {
    background-color: #e0f2c2;
    color: #4da400;
}
*/ 
seems to fix the problem on Chrome. I can't test that easily on other browsers, though.
  #18  
Old 09-30-2018, 01:43 PM
Try2B Comprehensive's Avatar
Try2B Comprehensive Try2B Comprehensive is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,201
I have this problem but have just been white-knuckling my way through.
  #19  
Old 10-02-2018, 10:01 AM
Charlie Tan Charlie Tan is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Scania
Posts: 4,946
I just want to add that under MacOS Mojave neither highlighting, nor C and P work in any of my browsers:
Safari, Opera, Chrome.
I have the old theme installed. I'm not going to download another browser.
  #20  
Old 10-02-2018, 09:36 PM
glowacks glowacks is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,048
I'd like to say that I like the theme with many fewer white pixels on my screen, and may well forgo the ability to highlight text in order to see fewer of them.
  #21  
Old 02-15-2019, 09:08 AM
DesertDog DesertDog is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mesa, Ariz.
Posts: 5,048
Now we got a new phenomenon. Can't highlight this morning using Firefox, the style on Sultantheme's and set it to the Straight Dope option, where it's been for months. Make the post, open a new thread, and find the choice has not stuck -- it's back to Sultantheme's. Lather, rinse, repeat. Updated Firefox to 65.0.1 which it has been asking to do for a couple days now; did not help.

Last edited by DesertDog; 02-15-2019 at 09:09 AM. Reason: Drop the sig, which has defaulted to on.
  #22  
Old 02-15-2019, 07:55 PM
TubaDiva's Avatar
TubaDiva TubaDiva is online now
Capo di tutti capi
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: In the land of OO-bla-dee
Posts: 10,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertDog View Post
Now we got a new phenomenon. Can't highlight this morning using Firefox, the style on Sultantheme's and set it to the Straight Dope option, where it's been for months. Make the post, open a new thread, and find the choice has not stuck -- it's back to Sultantheme's. Lather, rinse, repeat. Updated Firefox to 65.0.1 which it has been asking to do for a couple days now; did not help.
The tech guys have done something to Sultantheme that they think may actually help the highlight problem ... just heard about it this evening.

Please try again and tell me if 1) the highlight problem is fixed and 2) your problem is likewise resolved.

Thanks.

Jenny
your humble TubaDiva
Administrator
  #23  
Old 02-15-2019, 10:38 PM
TubaDiva's Avatar
TubaDiva TubaDiva is online now
Capo di tutti capi
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: In the land of OO-bla-dee
Posts: 10,955
Just switched themes.

Highlights/copies and pastes just fine.

Gloriosky!

Jenny
your humble TubaDiva
Administrator
__________________
Follow your inner moonlight; don't hide the madness.— Allen Ginsberg
  #24  
Old 02-16-2019, 07:08 AM
ThelmaLou's Avatar
ThelmaLou ThelmaLou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 15,012
The highlight problem is fixed in BOTH themes! And in Firefox. YAY!!

Actually, you always could highlight--you just couldn't SEE your highlighting.

So I got used to going through the highlight motions (sweeping the cursor over text to select it) and trusted that the text was selected even though I couldn't see the highlighting.... and by gum! it was selected, so I could copy/paste, bold/ital, etc. But seeing the highlighting now is great. It's the little things, ain't it? Small things that work.
__________________
“Our government may at some time be in the hands of a bad man. When in the hands of a good man it is all well enough.” But “we ought to have our government so shaped that even when in the hands of a bad man we shall be safe.” Frederick Douglass
  #25  
Old 02-16-2019, 07:15 AM
DesertDog DesertDog is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mesa, Ariz.
Posts: 5,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by TubaDiva View Post
The tech guys have done something to Sultantheme that they think may actually help the highlight problem ... just heard about it this evening.

Please try again and tell me if 1) the highlight problem is fixed and 2) your problem is likewise resolved.

Thanks.

Jenny
your humble TubaDiva
Administrator
Yes, and yes! The Straight Dope v3.7.3 stuck and highlights okay and -- bonus -- Sultantheme's Responsive vB3-blue also highlights okay. I'll check to see of the choice sticks when I've posted.

Where do I send the tech guys a cookie each?

Edit: Yes, Sultantheme stuck.

Last edited by DesertDog; 02-16-2019 at 07:16 AM.
  #26  
Old 02-16-2019, 10:46 AM
TubaDiva's Avatar
TubaDiva TubaDiva is online now
Capo di tutti capi
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: In the land of OO-bla-dee
Posts: 10,955
Good news!

Thanks.

Jenny
your humble TubaDiva
Administrator
__________________
Follow your inner moonlight; don't hide the madness.— Allen Ginsberg
  #27  
Old 02-19-2019, 04:11 AM
engineer_comp_geek's Avatar
engineer_comp_geek engineer_comp_geek is offline
Robot Mod in Beta Testing
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 23,164
Since highlighting appears to be working correctly for everyone now, I am going to un-sticky this.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright © 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017