Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2018, 02:40 PM
sara20 sara20 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 285
PC monitor is not showing the color red

I have a 26 inch westinghouse LCD monitor that I love and have had for about 9 years. I have noticed noticed that it is not showing the color red, the color red shows up as black. Example https://imgur.com/a/ogbxKh9.I tried turning up the red on the monitor but it makes no difference. I am using windows 10. Is there any way to fix this?

Last edited by sara20; 09-23-2018 at 02:42 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-23-2018, 02:43 PM
Tim R. Mortiss's Avatar
Tim R. Mortiss Tim R. Mortiss is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago
Posts: 6,706
I see lots of red in your posted image.
  #3  
Old 09-23-2018, 02:44 PM
filmore filmore is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,031
Your example looks fine to me. The reds are red. The screenshot uses video memory, so likely the picture is fine inside the computer. Can you take a picture with your phone so it captures what you are seeing?

Here's an article which says that sometimes the cable can be a problem:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/36...s-losing-color

A bad pin may prevent the red signal from being sent. Do you have another cable you can try? Or maybe even another computer you can hook it up to?
  #4  
Old 09-23-2018, 03:11 PM
jz78817 jz78817 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under Oveur & over Unger
Posts: 11,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by sara20 View Post
I have a 26 inch westinghouse LCD monitor that I love and have had for about 9 years. I have noticed noticed that it is not showing the color red, the color red shows up as black. Example https://imgur.com/a/ogbxKh9.I tried turning up the red on the monitor but it makes no difference. I am using windows 10. Is there any way to fix this?
do you know what connection you're using from the PC to the monitor? analog VGA, DVI, HDMI? all carry the three colors on independent wires, so usually the cable is the first place to look.
  #5  
Old 09-23-2018, 03:25 PM
pulykamell pulykamell is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: SW Side, Chicago
Posts: 45,162
I would start with the cable as the culprit, as well.
  #6  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:08 PM
control-z control-z is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 12,437
Cable could simply be loose. I have an HDMI cable that messes up the colors on the monitor if it's a little crooked in the port on the computer.
  #7  
Old 09-24-2018, 03:37 PM
Max Torque Max Torque is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Raiderville, TX
Posts: 10,804
The one time I ran into this issue as a computer tech, the problem was actually inside the computer. The innards had so much dust, it was apparently causing a short somewhere on the video card, causing the display to only show one color. I took the computer into the hallway, vigorously blew it out with compressed air, and it worked fine.
  #8  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:00 PM
Kobal2's Avatar
Kobal2 Kobal2 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 17,211
Check all connections and see if your video cable has a "bent" or "crease" in it that could indicate the wires inside might be cut (not sure what the proper English word for the bend could be, it's hard to miss). Also check the cable's sockets for similar signs of age/loose wiring. If problem persists, shut down computer, remove graphic card and reseat it. If problem persists it's likely that either your GFX card; the screen or the video cable is borked (most probably the cable, as has been said - but on many cheap monitors you can't switch the cable without replacing the monitor itslef) - try and switch each of them with spares or loaners one at a time to isolate the problem.


Oh, and Max Torque is right : dust buildup can also create all kinds of fucky problems by creating intermittent shorts.
__________________
--- ---
I'm not sure how to respond to this, but that's never stopped me before.
  #9  
Old 09-25-2018, 03:51 AM
Mangetout's Avatar
Mangetout Mangetout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England
Posts: 57,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobal2 View Post
Check all connections and see if your video cable has a "bent" or "crease" in it that could indicate the wires inside might be cut (not sure what the proper English word for the bend could be, it's hard to miss).
'Kink' (where the damage was caused by a loop being pulled tight like this )

'Crimp' where the cable has been damaged by pressure such as being shut in a door or pressed under the leg of a table.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017