Old 09-12-2019, 11:08 PM

Too afraid to speak up and now I may mess up

I've been working at Wendy's for a year now and yesterday my manager said that from Friday and on I will now be working in Drive Thru as a Cashier. I have never been a cashier ever in my life! I have always worked around food and cleaned up the restaurant at night after closing. One of my Co Workers asked my manager why can't she just hired someone new who knows what they are doing because my co worker said that she doesn't have the patience to train me. My manager yelled "You will teach her and she will do it!" Now I am afraid because I am not that good at doing mental math in my head and I'm scared I may hold up the Drive Thru trying to figure it out or I may mess up giving someone their correct amount of change. What do I do? Should I just go to my manager tomorrow and tell her that I have no idea what I'm doing?
Old 09-12-2019, 11:28 PM

The register will do the math for you, hon.
I think fast food registers have the food in pictures on them. You can do this. The window will be fast, but the food choices will be ones you've seen before.
I believe in you. Go in with an open mind and don't let your coworker sabotage you. If she short changes you on training tell your Boss. Good luck.
Btw, nice to meet you.
Welcome to the Dope.

Last edited by Beckdawrek; 09-12-2019 at 11:30 PM.
Old 09-12-2019, 11:30 PM
SD Curator of Critters

Since the OP is looking for advice, let's move this to IMHO.

Colibri
General Questions Moderator
Old 09-12-2019, 11:34 PM

Based on information you gave I say you have come to just the right conclusion on what to do, "..go to your manager tomorrow and tell her that you have no idea what you're doing".

However I wouldn't recommend you use that wording. Better I think if you said, "I'm not comfortable working the drive up and would prefer to do a different job" (Or use some other similar wording that is right for you)