Where did the "O" come from in Irish names?

O’Connor, O’Reilly, O’Shannon, O’ My God?

I have always wondered this secretly and have never asked my Irish American neighbors why the O.

Ah to be sure! there must be a good reason…

So Irish friends… Why O’Why is their an O before some names?

It’s a contraction of “Of”, so I’ve been told, which is why the apostrophe.

IANAI (I am not an Irishman), but I believe it’s a shortening of “of” - as in “son of”, just as Mc / Mac in Scotland.

On occasion it could be “of” as in “who comes from”…

It’s a patronymic affix from “ua”, which means “descendant of.” Sort of like the -son in “Davidson.”

Pravnik’s correct, but Pierre72, Mac is actually an Irish prefix meaning ‘son of’ that migrated to Scotland with the Dalriadan Scots, but manyu Irish names still have it as a prefix.

So it means from…?

and Mc and Mac mean from as well but in Scottish?

Also, (going from memory from history of Scot/Irish naming conventions I studied long ago)…

“Mic” son of
“Mac” son of
“Nic” daughter of. as in Padrigin NicTorkelson, Padrigin, daughter of Torkelson
“O” son of
“U” son of. as in U’Seanin…son of Sean
“Mc” son of

Most of these are derivations of the Gaelic words, though I think that “Nic” and “U” are of Norse origins.

Ah - thanks.

That’ll teach me for generalising, eh?
:slight_smile:

I’m not entirely sure of the actual word from which it comes, but it’s derived from the Irish language, and is definitely not a contraction of the English word “of”.

BMalion, in Ireland ‘Ní’ (pronounced knee) is often used instead of ‘Nic’. I’m no Irish scholar but I always thought it had the same root as ‘iníon’ (in Ian) which is Irish for daughter. You also have ‘Uí’ (ee) or ‘Bean Uí’ which is used to denote ‘wife of’.