Technical or scientific occupations=get-out-of-jury-duty-free card?

I just finished my annual ritual of waiting about in the jury lounge, being herded to a courtroom, answering mundane questions, and finally getting dismissed. The way they proceed is to bring about forty people into a courtroom. They introduce the counsel and the defendant, and seat a number people in the jury box. These people are asked the mundane questions mentinoed above, after which the attorneys for both sides exercise their privileges of excusing the prospective jurors for cause or peremptorily. As people in the jury box get dismissed, others are called in to take their place. In this way I eventually made to Seat 9 of the prospective jury.

I’ve done jury duty three or four times, and not once have I made it past voir dire and been seated in an actual jury. I’m a programmer analyst, and I noticed that several engineers and a space scientist also got bounced in rapid succession. The defense bounced me, and I don’t remember who bounced the others, though I think it was the defense in those cases as well.

The happy ending, you might say. Jury duty is usually perceived as an onerous intrusion into one’s daily routine. But I’d like to be an actual juror at least once, and was disappointed to be dismissed.

So what’s the scoop? Is it likely my occupation? Do they try to avoid having people who are highly educated? Or is it certain types of occupations as suggested in the thread title?

Oops, possibly should have put this in GQ, except I am polling for people’s experiences, too.

I’m a software engineer, but they didn’t boot me. I sat on an attempted murder trial.

No, definitely not your occupation. The only people automatically excluded from juries are attorneys and mental defectives. :smiley: