Students your favorite Ice Breakers from Profs? Any really memorable?

Well we are coming to that time of year again…and as with evry year since I started teaching full time, I have tried t make the first day of every class every year a memorable one. Even when I am teaching upperclassmen who have had me before, I always try to do something new…Because I have been teaching for nearly 10 years at my current institution, I am running low on things to do…some are time honored and can be done with every incoming freshman class. Such as who you are, where you are from, etc…etc… however, as with last year there are more invasive ice breakers that I really have to think about…such as one of my favorites - pretending to be a student, and waiting to see who the more outgoing students are…by who pipes up first spouting the rules for when a student can legally leave class if the prof. doesn’t show up…:slight_smile: 20 minutes at the college I teach at…

So does anyone have any particularly fun ice breakers? This year I am running a small psychological test on my incoming freshmen…Often used by the FBI here it is:

Hmmm…I just remember an econ professor who came in and said

For Halloween he tried doing his whole lecture wearing an Incredible Hulk mask, but the heat got to be too much for him.

Indiana University had a Business Law prof, Dr. Michael B. Metzger, whose lectures were famous. He wrote out the entire lecture’s outline on the board (3 chalkboards’ worth) before class started, then never touched the board during class. But what made him famous/notorious was that at the stroke of 8AM he would tell the most disgusting dirty joke imaginable. Sheep jokes (about Purdue, typically), veins in hot dogs, sex with chickens, you name it… Upperclassmen would hang out in the back of the classroom/auditorium just to “catch the monologue”, then run off to their own 8AM classes.