galvanized grill = death?

I recently received a homemade BBQ grill from a friend. But the metal drum he used to make it is galvanized.

I thought galvanized + fire + food = death, or some slow, horrible, withering, worse than death state.

This guy is a welder by trade so I would think he should know something about metal properties and surface treatments. But then again, he cooks on old refrigerator grates in his own grill – another no-no, I thought.

Googling doesn’t turn up the concrete answer I wanted; like “do this and die” or “it’s just a myth.”

Help. I’m afraid to cook out.

rainy

I don’t have any concrete evidence to cite except for the labels i’ve seen during my 7 years at Ace Hardware. On the galvanized nails a label is shipped inside and printed on the box to wash hands after handling b/c it contains elements known to cause cancer in the state of California. But on boxes of roofing nails that are electrogalvanized there is no such warning. So is it possible that your grill is electro galvanized? I’m not saying that electrogalvanized IS perfectly safe, but i’m not saying that is isn’t either.

I have come to the determination that everything causes cancer in the state of California. My rice cooker came with a tag saying “Wash hands after handling as this product may contain materials known to cause cancer.” It was a bloody rice cooker and clearly safe for use. I generally only worry about things that are lables as such for the entire nation.