Hpw many fatalaties from using TENS Units?

TENS (Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulators) are commonly used for pain releif. It is also believed that they can be dangerous if the electric charge ends up going through the heart. I have done a web search but cannot find any data on how many fatalities occur per year using such equipment. When I have used one on my back I know that the pads occasionally fall off, and it is easy to forget to switch off the unit before you attempt to pick up the pad. So I have shocked myself from my left hand to right central back which is a path that may include the heart. I susspect other users have made similar mistakes. So what are the fatallity statistics, and how dangerous are these things really?

I work as a biomed tech in a hospital, and encounter these devies. They are safe, if not, then they wouldn’t let people use them. By that I mean they let untrained people take them home with them, even though they may, in theory, change the settings, have the pads placed improperly, etc…If there were significant risk to your heath, then they would only be used by trained professionals at the hospital/PT location, like a standard defibrillator. It has lots of current, and can kill, and so is only used by those who know what they are doing.

Here is an FDA article.

It’s not on TENS units themselve, but about 1/3 of the way down, it lists devices classified as nonsignificant risk devices. These are deivices that, no suprise, have no significant risk to human health when used.

I dunno, I just dropped in to mention that they’re being used a lot these days as sex toys. I don’t know if you could say that people using them for an already “off brand” use are likely to be more careless about reading directions and such or not, but it might affect the numbers in some way.

The sex toy users are very paranoid about the danger. Part of the reason I wanted to know quite how dangerous they really are.