Creation of the universe according to the bible

Let’s start with my first question. In the bible, it says that god created the earth and said “let there be light”. Ok. Later, he creates our sun and the rest of the universe. Now I’m no scientist here, but how in the hell is there light without the presence of our sun?

Now onto question number two. He creates this vast universe filled with billions of stars and planets, but chooses to place life on only one. What the hell was the point of creating all this other stuff if all he cared about was earth?

And lastly, do you religious people think about this or do you take the story at face value, regardless of how laughable or simplistic it is?

On making all this but putting life on only one; Heck, He wanted to give us something to look at!
As to your first question, I don’t know, it makes no sense to me, but then again, I wasn’t there.

I’m not sure there’s a factual answer to your question, but since the idea of a universe that was NOT earth-centric didn’t really take hold until the Renaissance, I’m quite willing to accept that the scribes who wrote Genesis were trying to explain the mysteries of the universe based on what they knew.

As for your second question, we still haven’t found anyone else out there, have we?

Floyd13, let’s clarify what sort of answer you are seeking.

If you’re looking to debunk Genesis, Chapter 1 or if you are looking to debate with people who believe that those verses occurred as written, then we might want to move your thread to Great Debates. (Doing a search on “genesis AND creation” will turn up the last several hundred threads on the topic.)

If you are looking for a factual answer to the intent of the author(s), then we can provide some responses, here.

For example, a person who accepts those verses as literal may point out that the Light emanated from God or that the light existed without any need for the sun until the sun was created to be a vessel for the light.