Old 03-15-2005, 12:20 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

German language q.: "Heute nacht" means "last night", or "tonight"?

The German language, which I studied for eight years and thought I knew, continues to befuddle me. I thought heute Nacht was equivalent to tonight, or this evening, but in a particular text I see it used when last night was clearly meant. When does heute Nacht mean last night, and when does it mean tonight?

Is it a mistranslation?

Or is it an obsolete usage? FTR the book I'm reading is the German translation of Lord Of The Rings, and the language is deliberately slightly archaic, just as in the English original.
Old 03-15-2005, 12:24 PM
Not a real doctor.
Charter Member

Just a WAG, as my German is getting rusty from neglect:

Perhaps it means "last night" in the sense that the day begins at sundown. Like Christmas Eve, and New Years Eve are the evenings of Christmas and New Years, but occur the night before.
Old 03-15-2005, 12:35 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre of Pithecanthropus
The German language, which I studied for eight years and thought I knew, continues to befuddle me. I thought heute Nacht was equivalent to tonight, or this evening, but in a particular text I see it used when last night was clearly meant. When does heute Nacht mean last night, and when does it mean tonight?

Is it a mistranslation?

Or is it an obsolete usage? FTR the book I'm reading is the German translation of Lord Of The Rings, and the language is deliberately slightly archaic, just as in the English original.
Don't know. I thought gestern Abend or gestern Nacht was for last night. Perhaps heute Nacht can refer to early morning, thus last night, too?
Old 03-15-2005, 02:07 PM

heute= today, so I'd go out on a limb and say it means tonight.

-Tikster
Old 03-15-2005, 04:07 PM

LEO translates "heute Nacht" as tonight.

For "last night," they give "gestern Abend."
Old 03-15-2005, 04:15 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member