Electrical Circuits - Rings, Spurs & Radials

A question for any Doper electricians, or those in the know. I’m not sure if this will make sense to the Americans, as it involves UK electrics.

Everything I’ve read says you cannot put more than one electrical socket on a spur coming off a ring mains. Why not? How is putting multiple sockets on a spur any different from a radial circuit?

As you might gather, I want to wire in some new sockets, but the socket that I was hoping in wiring into isn’t on the main ring and is a spur. (Unless it is itself a radial, I haven’t determined yet.)

Does this help?

Not really. It doesn’t explain why it’s not ok to spur.

I’m a typical Straight Doper. It’s never enough to tell me the rules, I need to know why they are the rules. :slight_smile:

I’m an American electrician and this is confusing to me.
Are these series parrallel circuits or am I missing something? What’s the deal with the ring? Looks like a series loop but you are also allowed to tap (spur) a parrallel branch circuit…
The other difference is that these circuits don’t have a nuetral like we’ve got here.
Further explanation please, Nutmagnet.

I’m guessing because you would get into some complex series parrallel circuits if you spurred more than once at each tap.
Strange things happen with the resistance and other variables in the circuit that would create an unstable environment for the electrons. :wink:
I’ts been 15+years since I’ve had this stuff in class.

Are all these sources assuming your spur cabling is only rated to 13A? I don’t see why you couldn’t run a big chunky 40A spur off your ring main with a few sockets on it, it can’t put any more load on it than several separate 13A spurs.

Maybe the regulation (if it is that) is there to prevent silly people running out a long chain of spurs off sockets and then running electo-plating units off them all?

Because, if there are 3 cables, it already has a spur connected and you can only have one spur per junction.