Theoretical Physics Question - Fat Gravitons

This summer I was reading a science magazine in my dentist’s waiting room, and there was a brief article on new research into gravity. I read it rather quickly, and I’m not sure if I remember correctly, but it was something like this (I’m not a scientist, so please correct if I’m gettting this wrong):

The force of gravity is measurable and consistent, except at a microscopic level, where anomalies are observed. One hypothesis is that there exists a particle called a fat graviton that causes these anomalies. The particle had not been discovered as of the date of the article, but conclusive proof of its existence or lack thereof was anticipated this year.

I’m not sure if I’m remembering the size of this correctly, but it seemed to me at the time that the size was very, very large, which made me wonder why it had never been observed before this.

Since then, I haven’t heard anything else about this. Was this disproved?

Here’s what I think you’re asking about; let me know if I’m completely off-base:

General relativity (or hell, even Newton’s theory) tells us that the force due to gravity should be inversely proportional to the square of the distance. However, the experiments that have lead us to believe this all involve very large distances, like the size of the Solar System or the Earth. Further, some versions of string theory predict that the force of gravity should deviate from this inverse-square behaviour at small scales – on the order of tens of microns. These deviations can be viewed as coming from the “fat gravitons” that you mentioned.