Can ADHD be turned off and on?

My daughters boyfriend has an 8 year old son. This child has been diagnosed as having ADHD. I personally question the diagnosis. I am not a doctor and I have not been around this kid all that much, but from what I have read on WebMD there are a number of symptoms that must be present when this alleged disease is diagnosed. This kid shows practically none of these symptoms. He might be a tiny bit hyperactive, but the kid is 8 years old. I think that the single biggest thing that makes me believe he has been misdiagnosed is the fact that he can turn his misbehavior on and off like a light switch. And his “symptoms” almost always appear when he wants to do something that he has already been told he can’t do. When this happens he becomes an absolute TIRD. He pitches fits, whines, cries and gets extremely mouthy like there is no tomorrow. Once he has been sternly disciplined, especially if it has been in front of other people, he turns his tirade off and goes around an apologises to everybody. My own personal non-medical opinion is that this kid is just a spoiled BRAT with a capital “B” that needs to have some serious disciplinary rules put into place and enforced.

So my question is can ADHD be turned off and on like a light switch or should they consider getting a second opinion?

Here’s my layman’s understanding of ADHD: The ADD brain is weak on the ability to produce the stimulant chemicals needed to help one focus and for the brain to be ‘quiet’. Without that internal stimulus, the brain yammers around, jumping from idea to idea. So ADD children tend to seek to provide that stimulus externally. They fidget, they raise hell, etc.