Is a contact lens actually a lens?

As a physics teacher, I should probably know this. However, I am still confused by how, exactly, a contact lens gives you better vision. My understanding is that it is not an actual lens in the sense that a glass (or other medium) lens refracts light because of the curved shape and refractive index of the material. Does the contact bend your cornea a bit, squeezing your eye to the correct shape? I’m curious. Thanks!

-Tofer

No, the lens doesn’t distort the corneal surface to any significant degree. Contact lenses work the same way that eyeglasses do, only the design of the curvature is more complex. Not only does the lens need to be ground and polished to the correct curvature for proper vision correction, but the inner surface must also be designed to accomodate the unique curvature of the wearer’s cornea. It has to hold the lens in the right position, and in the case of astigmatism correction, at the right orientation, as well. A lot of variables have to be factored in for a correct and comfortable fit. But, the general principle behind them is still the same as any lens.

Just wanted to mention that this is true for normal day-to-day life, but as always, there is a special case. If you’re contemplating LASIK, you need to go without contacts for two weeks as daily use of contacts does alter the shape of the cornea very slightly.

You could go from long-term daily wear of contact lenses to LASIK on the same day, but it just makes sense to let the cornea be at its natural shape before embarking on an expensive procedure that is intended to permanently alter the shape of it.