Are Snap-On tools as good as their reputation?

Every mechanic or auto dealer I’ve ever been to seems to use Snap-On tools. I’ve always assumed that they were the gold standard for quality in that business, but in another thread it was implied that you could buy better tools for less money.

So, what tool manufacturers (if any) are considered to make higher-quality tools than Snap-On?

I don’t own a set of them however I’ve been told that part of what you’re paying a premium for is service - if you run a mechanic’s shop you can’t afford to take time off during the day to go buy a new set of whatever, with Snap-On you call the guy and he drives it out to you.

Craftsman and Husky hand tools have always been good for me but I’m not a mechanic. I’ve never had one break, the quality seems very good and everything has a no-hassle lifetime warranty (heck, Home Depot will honor the Craftsman warranty and replace with Husky brand).

Since you’re looking for informed opinions, let’s move this to IMHO.

samclem

“Pops” Mercotan worked for Snap-On for a time. And he worked with lots of professional mechanics. As a result, he had an opinion.

Basically they are superior if/when you’re using them day in and day out for your livelihood. They fail less often, they’re better engineered ergonomically so there’s fewer skinned knuckles, carpal tunnel syndrome, and general wear and tear, and the service is generally better on them too (or was when he worked for them).

If you’re a weekend handyman, then they’re probably not worth the extra cost to you. As Pops used to say to professional mechanics: “Craftsman is a fine tool. Lots of farmers use Craftsman”. This line was especially useful in getting the mechanic to buy Snap-On.

All the above is IMHO of course. Snap-On laid the foundation for Stately Mercotan Manor and helped put me thru med school, so it’s possible I could be biased.