High schools, YMCAs, and nude swimming

At one time it was common for YMCAs, schools, and colleges to require males to swim nude unless women were present. What/when was the last YMCA to require it? Last school? Is the pratice still common in other countries?

There was an earlier thread on this topic. The latest high school reference was from the 1960s.

“I say, ‘young man, there’s a place you can go…’” :smiley:

?? Can someone explain why the requirement was deemed necessary?

I graduated from a Catholic high school for boys in Maryland in 1972. We had to swim nude as part of gym class, but the swimming team wore trunks for their practices. There was speculation among the students about the reasons for this, but I never heard an official explanation. The speculation was that they didn’t want us carrying around wet bathing suits all day. Seemed like BS to me at the time.

Was’t the Y at one time supposed to be a place for underprivledged youth? If so, then it makes sense that wearing a swim suit (which costs money to buy) would be seen as the unnecessary requirement. It may have been viewed as an enormous locker room with a pool in the middle.

This all sounds pretty weird to me. I attended YMCA activities throughout the 1960s, and never saw or heard anything like this. Our pool, though, was often co-ed, and the women had a separate locker room. But even when things were all-male I neither saw nor heard of nude swimming.
I went to Catholic school, but we didn’t have any swimming. Our all-male Boy Scout camp required bathing suits.
As for the cosdt of bathing suits, I’d think that a non-issue. They weren’t that expensive, especially for kids. And my first college had a tank-suit requirement (no outside bathing suits). You wore their suits, which they had in all sizes, and they were washed after each use.