Does an open bottle of wine need to be refrigerated?

Stupid, simple question. I have acquired a bottle of red wine. On the one hand, I know that as a non-dairy, alcoholic beverage, it’s not likely to go bad if I just leave it in the cupboard. On the other hand, when my parents opened a bottle of wine but didn’t finish it, they always put it in the fridge.

The bottle says to serve at room temperature, and I am new to this wine thing (in case my needing advice on how to deal with my £3.50 bottle of wine doesn’t already tell you that.)

Yes, cold retards all spoilage. Vinegar is caused by microorganisms.

Yes, the cold will slow down the oxidation process. Don’t expect it to keep for more than a couple of days though. A wine stopper and pump will help it keep a little longer.

Thanks - good to know.

In my experience, even a stopper and pump will only extend a bottle of red wine 2-3 days. Note that removing air doesn’t prevent fermentation that occurs rapidly after the bottle is opened, as it is an anaerobic process; it just reduces oxidation. Refrigeration should slow all chemical reactions, aerobic and anaerobic, but doesn’t seem to do all that much in practice, honestly. Red wine is a social drink, to be shared with friends (or, if you’re a wino like me, drunk in splits or whole bottles.) Reds should be served lightly chilled (60 degrees F to “room temperature”) depending on the sugar content and personal preference.

White wine should last somewhat longer after opening–I get about four or five days–and should be chilled (45-55 degrees F) regardless.

Stranger

Experience has taught me that after a couple of days, the difference between a refrigerated and an unrefrigerated open bottle of wine is a huge one.

Perhaps, but they’re both “off” by that time and (IMHO) undrinkable.

Stranger

Yes, refrigerate it. When you want to drink it just pull the bottle out of the fridge and let it warm up a bit on the counter.