Musicians: Easier to sight-read==> harder to memorize?

I play guitar just for fun, mostly Renaissance and Baroque-era pieces on a Takamine steel string. Yeah, I know, I should be using a classical guitar, but this is the closest thing I have to one right now. Besides, I like the metallic tone.

Anyway, I’ve usually found that when I work through a new piece, I usually have it memorized fairly soon, long before I can play it fluently, so by the time I do achieve fluency, I don’t need the music. Now, however, I’ve been working on a fairly easy Spanish fantasia which happens to be technically easy, in the sense that it takes very little effort to read the notes and play accordingly. They’re mostly down in the first five frets of the guitar which are the first notes everyone learns.

But for some reason I find it hard to memorize.

Has anyone else noticed anything like this?

It depends on the instrument, and on how you learned to play it. I was a professional musician for eight years playing the fife and pennywhistle in the Colonial Williamsburg Fife and Drum Corps. We have to memorize a lot of music; when you’re marching in front of the tourists, you can’t consult anything written down. As such, I learned to be very good at memorizing music. However, I can’t sight-read worth beans. My friends who play other instruments (piano and guitar) are both very good at translating written music into played music, probably because they will almost always be looking at the music as they’re playing it.

Out of curiosity, how hard to memorize is ‘very hard’? If you can play it, can’t you just spend an hour or two playing it straight through repeatedly until muscle memory starts to set in?

For me it is all about the patterns in the music - if there are patterns that work for me, I memorize it whether I like it or not. If for some reason there are no patterns or at least they are hard for me to discern, it’s hopeless.