Can I take additional college classes after I've already gotten my Bachelors

This is a probably a simple question, but basically, I want to get my MA in International Relations, but one of the admission requirements for most programs is proficiency in a foreign language. During my time as an undergrad, I never thought to take any language classes(outside of a basic German I class).

My question is can I just take a few classes at a local university or college in say… Arabic, without having to actually having to enter a language arts program?

Policies will vary from college to college, to the point where you’d be better off talking to your local college’s admission office than anyone here.

At most colleges or universities, yes, you could. College class schedules often don’t tend to be too convenient to the schedules of working people, though- most classes are during the work day. A community college or university extension program might be cheaper and easier to fit into your schedule.

State schools are more likely to offer this than private universities. Bowling Green State University, where I am taking classes, allows “guest students” though you pay a hefty per credit fee. <sigh>

Why don’t you simply audit a class for free at your alma mater? IIRC, most colleges allow this…The college I went to, and subsequently taught at encouraged alumni to audit classes…

Alot of people at my college HAD to get a “General Science” degree, because they had too many credits, without a degree, to continue receiving financial aid. So, they’d get their BS in GS, and continue taking classes towards a second BS. So the answer is yes, at least at some schools.

What school was that, may I ask? Most colleges IIUC won’t do this because it gives away for free that for which they prefer to charge. :stuck_out_tongue: