Lutheran/Protestant churches--statues?

So I’m watching Men in Trees last night, where the former prostitute meets a new guy and is on a study date with him. He suggests going somewhere quieter, which turns out to be a small church. I feel perfectly at home looking at it; it has a large cross with the close to life-size corpus on it, a statue of the Sacred Heart. Of course I’m Roman Catholic. So the guy says that he is the *Lutheran minister * there.

Am I mistaken or don’t many Protestant churches usually not use statues or paintings of Christ? Please let me know about Lutherans and others.

My background is United Methodist–though I’ve been in other varieties of churches.

In my experience, Protestant churches do not have crosses with bodies on them–no crucifixes. Crosses, yes, but they’re empty–or maybe decorated with a crown of thorns, or a purple cloth during Lent.

Statues? Not likely. I won’t say it’s impossible, but seems unlikely.

Paintings? might depend on where in the church it was located.

Still, I’d say the most likely form of artistic representation of Jesus to be found in a typical Protestant church would be stained glass. Stained glass images of Jesus are common, but hardly universal. (Stained glass without a picture of Jesus is even more common, but still not universal).

While crucifixes and statues are not found in most Protestant churches, Lutheran and Anglican churches are an exception. Some may be little different from a Methodist or Presbyterian church, while others may be as ornate as a Roman Catholic church, including crucifxes, elaborate altars and statues of saints. In Anglicanism this difference is often expressed in the terms High Church and Low Church, and I’ve heard the same terms used informally to describe Lutheran congregations.