As a customer, recording a phone call into the company.

There’d been a few past threads about the problems with cancelling AOL accounts.

But then Cervaise posts an idea which got me thinking–what’s to stop customers (who have the technology) from recording their calls into the company?

If I called AOL, or Bank of America, or Mom & Pop’s Cookie Store in Sandusky, Ohio and said to the representative, “I am a customer. This call may be recorded for quality assurance purposes. . .” or something to that effect, what’s the legality of such a thing? I would think it’s legal in all 50 states because I’m declaring it up front. Whether or not I choose to record it is up to me. . . Would it improve customer service? I mean, they’re recording me, so why couldn’t I record them?

Has anyone tried this before? If so, did it work?

Tripler
This post may be recorded. . . . aw hell. This thread will self destruct in 5 seconds.

I work in customer service. I’m not sure of the legality of it, but I’ve had a customer tell me they were recording the call. I had no problem with it and continued the call. I recorded on my end too of course.

Start here—it’s the best Internet reference on the subject I’ve so far encountered. It may not address your exact question, but it should at least give you a firm overview of the subject.

Didn’t that guy who tried to get rid of his AOL service do that? And then posted it on the Internet because the guy on the other end wouldn’t let him?

IANAL but so far as I know, it’s entirely legal to record telephone calls so long as both parties* are aware and give their consent (presumably by not hanging up). That’s why you get the “For quality control purposes, this call may be recorded” announcement when you call a customer service number these days.

*There are obvious exceptions, like warranted wire taps and the like; I’m talking about your ordinary citizens and companies here.

ETA: Wow, Washoe. Good reference.