Who are the acoustic guitar greats?

This is kind of embarrassing. I’ve started taking guitar lessons, partly as a resume builder and partly for personal interest. And I’m realizing that I can’t hear acoustic guitar in songs. Ever since I started playing Guitar Hero, electric guitar parts have really stood out to my ears (and of course electric guitar is easy to pick out in the first place) but acoustic just somehow fades into the sonic background for me. It’s kind of humiliating because I have a ton of music knowledge - decades of piano, college music minor, and I’m trying to pick up an instrument I just can’t hear!

I mean, it’s obvious when it’s that really sing-along-folky Peter Paul and Mary style. And it’s obvious when it’s classical guitar. Bluegrass I have a hard time telling some of the stringed instruments apart, but I can get the essential drift of the guitar part. But can anybody give me some things to listen for the acoustic guitar that are rock or the other kinds of folk or blues or, you know, stuff like that? What does virtuoso acoustic sound like? Is this a stupid question?

Starting at or very near the top: Tommy Emmanuel doing Day Tripper and Lady Madonna, Classical Gas, Guitar Boogie and Somewhere Over the Rainbow - watch the finger work at the start of that last one, just amazing.

For acoustic, steel-string guitar, your best bet is some of the country/folk influenced rockers -

James Taylor
Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young
Joni Mitchell
Bruce Cockburn
Melissa Etheridge
Don McLean
Bruce Springsteen (Nebraska)

Most rock music uses acoustic for a quieter, mellow passage, then brings out the electric for the heavier section of a song. Led Zepplin - Over the Hills and Far Away is a prime example. I’m sure you’ll get lots of great recommendations here.

Every one should own a copy of this regardless.
Friday Night

But I think it might be what you’re looking for.