NyQuil and overdosing

Would anyone (prferably a doctor or pharmacist) know how much NyQuil one would have to consume before an overdose?

I’m not a doctor or pharmacist, but a putting away an entire bottle at once might cause serious harm, if it didn’t kill you. Among other things, NyQuil contains acetaminophen, which is damaging to one’s liver in high doses. It’s hard to say, because every person is different. I know a person who once drank an entire bottle with no ill effects, yet, conversely, there are people that have died as a result.

I spent some time searching the net but couldn’t come up with any specific numbers. IIRC, it is possible to overdose on acetominophen by taking only a small multiple of the correct dose, possibly as little as twice the correct dose for some people. Also, IIRC, people get into trouble with acetominophen because it is contained in so many OTC products and people often take OTC products without knowing what is in them. For example, if someone took the maximum recommended dose of Tylenol for a headache and then took the maximum recommended dose of NyQuil to sleep they could approach a toxic level if they started out with a bad liver.

Nowadays, in well equipped hospitals, the treatment of acetominophen intoxication is based on measurement of acetominophen levels in individual patient, not on how much the patient said she ingested.

If your really want to know “how much NyQuil one would have to consume before an overdoseat” you could try asking either the Vicks people (who sell NyQuil) or a poison control center.