How Long Will Frozen Soup Keep?

Last night I was cleaning some freezer burned meat out of my small chest freezer and thawed out a bowl of homemade chili from last fall. It smells and looks fine. Is it still safe to eat?

What would be ths LONGEST you would consider keeping homemade soups or sauces frozen?

Bonus question: Last week I made a lasagna and had about half of the noodles left over; I put wax paper between them, wrapped then tightly and froze them for future use. I’ve never done this before. Will they be OK to use?

Generally, frozen soups/stews should probably be eaten within 6 months, but I believe that’s usually more of a taste/texture thing (any longer than that, and there’s a good risk that freezer burn will be an issue).

That said, I’ve eaten spaghetti sauces and chilis that were frozen for around 8-9 months without noticing too much of a change in taste or texture. I’ve also kept frozen stock for nearly a year without any significant deterioration, and have used year-old pork chops and pot roasts without any trouble (though I vacuum-seal any raw meat that will be staying in the freezer for more than a month or two)

As for your lasagna noodles, I’d probably use them within a month - cooked pasta tends to get a noticeably mushy texture if it’s been frozen for a while and it’s hard to wrap tightly enough to ward off freezer burn for long.

My mother has eaten things that have been in her freezer for years…I think her record was some meat that had been in there for 9 years. She said it wasn’t great, but it was okay and edible, and it didn’t kill her…heck, she’s 84! Soup I know she has kept for a year or three.

I’d worry about the waxed paper more than anything…waxed paper doesn’t hold up well to wetness, and it may prove messy when you thaw it out. I’d use plastic wrap instead.