Revoke a College Degree -- Can They Do This?

I haven’t watched the show yet, but this is inpired by a synopsis of the new show “Community” where a lawyer (I think) goes back to a community college to teach after his (presumably law-)degree is revoked.

Which got me to wondering, can a college revoke a degree once it is awarded? Imagine whatever circumstances you want, but I thought once a degree was conferred, it was…well, conferred.

I could see having some kind of notation put in one’s transcript like “earned the B.S., but under fradulent conditions” or something.

(I know, don’t take anything on television too much as any sort of fact)

So, does anyone know if there is a procedure for doing this? Thanks!

I have no close knowledge about US colleges, but Doctorate degrees from universities, it was always my understanding that if they later discovered you cheated (faking results) or plagiarized, the title could and would be revoked, no matter how many years had passed.

Why should you keep a title you didn’t earn correctly?

As far as my understanding goes, most educational institutions will withdraw a qualification if there is any evidence of cheating.

I’d guess there’s nothing to stop them; a qualification is basically a document that says “I think this guy can do so and so” (anyone can give a certificate out, it’s a matter of whether they can be trusted; i.e. be an accredited institution) so they presumably have the right to say “hang on, we’ve realised that this guy cannot really do so and so”.

Did he lose his degree, or just get disbarred (has the degree, but isn’t allowed to practice law)?

Interesting question. It appears that there’s actually legal precedent on in this issue. Every university is slightly different, so slightly different internal procedures might be used; however, it probably wouldn’t be much different from the process described in the 1986 Michigan case Crook v. Baker: