Technical Writing

How’s the tech writing job market? I could pick up a certification with a little money and a little work through a community college or online school. (And me with two M.A.s to my name… :eek::confused:) Could it be worth it?

My wife does medical writing - on-line medical encyclopedias, inserts, even a biology textbook. Her business is up during the recession.

Her most important assets for her jobs are a biology degree, a nice bunch of clips, and a reputation for turning stuff in on time and with good quality. If you have a good technical background, and have published stuff anywhere (even if not relevant to the technology) find some places that are looking for writers and submit stuff. Many places ask you to do a sample (paid for, often) before hiring you.

She’s a freelancer - I think the full time market isn’t as good.

Hi. I was a pro tech writer for about eight years and then went freelance for three. Haven’t done it since 2000, though.

You might want to contact recruitment agencies that cater primarily to the software and internet technologies industries. I expect that if they are honest, they will tell you that the picture now is the same as it ever was: there is always a small demand for good tech writers, but they are nobody’s idea of a priority. The recruitment agencies themselves are primarily concerned with software geeks of various ranks, from entry-level coders to architects and project managers, because that’s where the money is. The software companies, meanwhile, regard documentation as the last and least of all priorities, somewhere below making sure the office plants get watered once a week, and regard tech writers as a regrettable, occasional necessity.