Are There Many Famous Musicians Who Can't Read Music?

I saw Sir Elton John in concert a few weeks ago and it got me wondering:

His band is so frikkin good, I’m thinking anyone who would play with such a big name must be trained, able to read music, and have a strong knowledge of theory etc.

This is my assumption.

Am I correct to assume the above or are there musician’s out there who are self-taught, can’t read a note, don’t understand theory, and yet they are hugely successful on their own, or they play in a band for someone really famous.

I’d be curious to know some examples of really famous (current and past) musician’s who made it big on natural talent alone, and yet couldn’t read music or have the most basic understanding of music theory.

Thanks
Gus

I have heard (no cite) that many of the “girl groups” of the early-mid 60’s could not read music - someone would bang out ehr melody on the piano, and the "girls’ would learn it by repetition.

Any/all blind musicians, obviously.

The Beatles couldn’t read music.

Paul MCcartney

Jazz musicians who can’t read music

The BeeGees

I have always had the impression that most rock musicians can’t read music (from a stave), and don’t know dick about musical theory. I do not in any way intend that be read a criticism of their musical talents.

Actually, most musicians throughout history have probably not been able to read music.

I know Paul McCartney has said that he deliberately avoided learning, as he was afraid it might interfere with his melodic creativity. (I guess his thinking was: it has been working well for me so far; I don’t know why; so, better not mess with anything that might even possibly affect it.)

ETA: You don’t necessarily need musical training to be good; what you do need, trained or not, is lots and lots of practicing.

Pavarotti

Going straight to the OP, I believe Elton John can’t read music.