Iodine in sea salt

I’m confused about the iodine content of sea salt. Growing up I heard that seafood was a good source of iodine, but I see conflicting statements about iodine in sea salt. Some say it’s a good source of iodine (which makes sense given the iodine in seafood), others say sea salt does not contain a significant amount of iodine. Is this a complex subject, where either statement could be true depending on exactly which variety of sea salt? Anyone know the straight dope?

I don’t know much about the iodine content, but as a serious amateur cook I live by Michael Symon’s mantra on the three kinds of generally available salt: Top with finishing salt, cook with kosher salt, put iodized on your driveway.

Only if it’s been iodized, iodine has to be purposely added to salt. Check the label.

Here’s some information

Compare those numbers with:

No. Iodine occurs naturally in seawater. (In fact, most of the iodine on earth is in the ocean.) It is inevitable that sea salt contains trace iodine along with many other minerals. Saltwater fishes tend to concentrate the relatively low levels of iodine in seawater by taking it up in their thyroids. So fish heads are the most iodized part of the fish. (Seaweed like kelp also seems to concentrate seawater iodine, but I don’t know what the mechanism is.)

Different samples of sea salt have differing levels of iodine, but apparently all or almost all sea salts have less than what is added to (most) rock salt intended for table use. Where the information is available, sea salts seem to run around 9 ppm iodine, compared with 44-77 ppm for commercially iodized rock salt in the United States and 10-22 ppm in Europe. Iodized salt in other parts of the world is even less standardized, with (ostensibly iodized) samples in South Africa found ranging from 0-97 ppm.

Iodine deficiency is a very serious health risk, but excessive iodine can also be a problem, leading to hypothyroidism and autoimmune thyroiditis.