Is rainwater safe to drink?

I would not expect fresh rainwater to have any biological impurities, but what about chemical impurities? Have decades worth of antipollution measures made that a moot point?

Thanks,
Rob

There are a lot of variables including how it was collected. Has it landed on a roof and flowed through a gutter to a collection point? Weather conditions can have an impact as well. I am by no means an expert, but I’ve worked on water sanitation projects in the developing world and it is usually recomended that rain water be used for irrigation and washing, not drinking. If you are going to drink it, you should boil it first.

Google “acid rain.”

Acid rain is pretty unusual these days (unless you live in or near China), and in any case it’s pretty harmless to drink in small quantities. The worst acid rain has a pH of about 2.5 – which is about the same as a Coke.

It might not taste very good, though.

In the small Texas town where I grew up, nearly everyone had a “rain barrel” under the downspout of their gutter system. Women used rain water for their house plants and for washing their hair. Other than that, I don’t remember any specific use; when the barrel was full, it was tipped over and emptied. I don’t recall anyone ever using it as drinking water.

I find this “rainwater is a life threat” notion a bit unlikely.

I can’t see what bio-hazard there is going to be in freshly collected rainwater that necessitates boiling (presuming the container itself is not the source of contamination). The water gets into the atmosphere via evapouration, which is effectively boiling. What algae, protozoa, bacteria is going to contaminate the water up in the clouds?

Coming from the Australian bush, usually you had the option of the rainwater collected of the homestead and maybe one of bore, channel or river water.