How does the royal family earn money/maintain wealth?

This is for the UK specifically…

how do they maintain their position and their wealth? Do they get paid through taxes every year? Do they get a cut of any profits made by any company doing business in the UK? Or do they just live off the money they’ve had forever, and keep their positions (king, queen, prince, etc) because the people let them?

They own a heck of a lot of real estate. I’m no expert, but I believe the majority of their income is basically rent.

that makes sense. So, they basically lease the country to their subjects? That would do it.

A Google search turned up this rather interesting website detailing some of the Windsor family income.

ETA: I admit I don’t really understand what it means to say Charles gets income from the Duchy of “blah blah” but I assume it has something to do with rent. I’m more than willing to have my ignorance fought if need be.

The Queen owns (or owned, depending on how you look at it), an awful lot of real estate…this is called the “Crown Estate” In the 1760s, George III surrendered his income from that (or most of it) in exchange for an annual payment from Parliament. Every ruler since then has done the same. The Queen does so “freely”, but like most of the stuff she does “freely”, she doesn’t really have much of a choice.

All in all, it’s a really good deal for the Treasury of the UK, and a really sucky one for the monarch. The Queen also gets income from the Duchy of Lancaster (which George III did not turn over), and the Prince of Wales from the Duchy of Cornwall, but since the 1990s, they’ve had to pay income tax.

You know, if you curtsy when you ask, they will tell you themselves.

Not the whole country, or even the majority of it, but some fairly big parts of it.

Yes that certainly is one viewpoint. Personally I am able to arrive at this viewpoint most easily by holding my head upside down, squinting and being smashed off my face on hard liquor. YMMV.