How do you fix a leaning gate post?

I have a back gate anchored by a four by four on the hinge side with another four by four on the other ‘open’ side. Next to ‘open’ side is a hedge, so it’s not part of the rest of the fence. And any work to that side of the post (the side that would be natural to pull from) will be impaired by the hedge.

My problem is that the top of the post is leaning in, making the top of the gate rub against it when it closes.

The post is in about three feet of concrete and is made of cedar. The lean is only about half an inch, if that.

What’s the best way of straightening the post, remembering that it’s set in concrete, has a prickly hedge right next to it and that I don’t want to shave it down (Aesthetically I want a straight post, not a leaning post shaved at the top)?

Is the post rotted? I’m not a fencing expert, but if it’s rotted, I’m guessing it’s going to need to be replaced.

Perhaps you can saturate the ground so that the post & concrete can be shifted slightly with water while forcing the post upright and securing it in that position with ropes, boards or other method. Leave the ropes in place as the ground dries.

If you do this I would recommend a slight over correction

Post is only a couple years old. Not rotted.

I’ve heard the ‘saturating the ground and pulling’ method. My concern is that it’s set in a whole whack of concrete and that it won’t move. That said, that’s probably my first move if no great ideas pop up.

Also, what do I do once the ground is dry? Once I take the rope off, won’t it settle back into the place it was in? I can’t knock a wooden shim in next to the post as it’s set into concrete.

Can you adjust the gate hinges? By taking out the screws and then reinstalling?

So the gate can clear the post? That means the top of the gate will angle back a few degrees, but it shouldn’t be noticeable. At least not nearly as noticeable as shaving the post.