Making Money on the internet

Im an ex cop and I went to college on a baseball scholarship. The combination of those and other adventures has taken a toll on my body. Im 47 Years old but I feel like Im 80. Im far from lazy and Im willing to work hard at whatever I can. Is it possible to make money from home on the internet. I mean something legit, not one these rip-offs that want money to “give you the secret”.
Is there anything I can do from home? Just something I can do to supplement my income. Thank you

Advice threads are best suited to IMHO.

Colibri
General Questions Moderator

Yes, of course it is possible to make money through a job you do at home via the Internet. The question is, are you qualified for those jobs? What skills do you have? What kind of work are you expecting to do? What kind of pay do you expect?

Like any job – actually, even more so – nobody is going to point out a guaranteed position to you, except possibly the ones that really suck. You need to go out and beat the bushes to find a position, even a part time one. Keep in mind you’re competing not only nationally but with people who are in other countries as well. If the work can be done online, it can be done anywhere that someone has a computer. This means that the really low-skill gruntwork like copying and pasting into a form ends up paying very little; say, $1 an hour, because someone in Bulgaria or Thailand will do it for that much. Also, keep in mind that very few online jobs are actually employer/employee situations; most are contractual, which means few protections for you. It probably is not too surprising that the economic downturn has made opportunities scarce, since a lot more people are looking for ways of earning side money (or just any money at all), so it’s a bit rough out there right now.