I'm getting scammed, right?

So I was recently let go at work, and since I’m a student looking for a part time job, I hit Craigslist. I found a job as a waitress - which is really what I do best anyway - but also got a response from one of the office jobs I sent my resume to.
It was a guy looking for a personal assistant - most of the work would be done from home. Booking flights, answering emails, that sort of thing. $400/week. Seems too good to be true. The only identifying information he asked for was my age, address, etc - mainly stuff that was on my resume anyway. He did make mention of a copy of my driver’s license, but I told him I’d rather wait for the face to face meeting one he got back to town - that was fine. He tested my response times to emails, since I’d be needing to check my email frequently. Not a problem since I get an alert on my phone. Everything seems legit, just too good to be true. So I went ahead and took the position.
Here’s what doesn’t seem right. My first assignment is to receive a money order in the mail. I’m to cash it, take $100 out for me, take out the cost to wire it via Western Union, and wire the rest to a company in Istanbul. He claims he owes them for supplies. The amount is $1998, which seems odd.

So I’m pretty sure I’m being scammed. I assumed that money orders are better than checks, but I’m guessing they can be forged like anything else. I’m not going to do it, because I don’t want to be the one taking the fall. But I do want to make sure that I’m not being paranoid.

Other things that don’t add up - if I Google him, I can’t find any information about him. He’s supposedly an independent contractor, and gave me a paragraph worth of things he’s worked on that are fairly well known (at least in their respective cities). When I Google the information he gave me for Western Union, I can’t find anything except hotels nearby.

This is totally a recipe for disaster, right?

Yes. This is a scam. Do not do it.