So...why are there still soldiers in Penn Station?

Whenever I’m in NYC’s Penn Station, I see soldiers, armed with rifles, both on the outside street level and standing guard inside, including in the area where the “jurisdiction” overlaps with the general New York City Subway.

I understand that military personnel acting as law enforcement is not a violation of the Posse Comitatus Act. However, as far as I know – and I’m a resident of NYC – there are currently no alerts against trains in the area. In fact, I’m not sure there have ever been threats against trains.

(Penn Station, by the way, handles Amtrak, the Long Island Rail Road, New Jersey Transit, and MTA buses and subway trains).

It’s been more than ten years since the September 11 attack. I don’t see soldiers at the Met or the Natural History Museum. I don’t see them around the Empire State Building. They weren’t at the Prudential Center in Newark when the Nets took on the Houston Rockets.

I find it odd because police officers are also in Penn Station, and I can’t figure out why they need the extra help. Surely NYPD has assault rifles?

Is the military there “just in case”? Do they have some kind of 20-year mandate? Has anyone, like the mayor, officially objected to them? Whenever I see them I feel like I’m in Israel or Russia or any other country (“good” or “bad”) that has security forces. Our military and police are separate, which is an important part of our democracy. Seeing the soldiers disturbs me a little bit.

They’re part of JTF Empire Shield, a special task force whose mission is to stand ready to support civilian authorities in case of a homeland security incident. Many members of JTF Empire Shield end up serving overseas later on, but while in New York and on the task force they are formally a NY State Army or Air National Guard unit.

Here is a New York national guard PDF briefly talking about JTF Empire Shield.