A Potentially Dumb Question Regarding a Flash Drive

Greetings.

I am generally computer literate, but I have a basic question about removing documents from my work computer using a flash drive (or some other USB storage device).

Let’s imagine that I’m contemplating leaving my current employer. If I pull all of the documents that I created during the course of my employment onto a flash drive (or some other USB storage device) before I leave, will that activity be visible to my employer? In other words, will the act of moving the files show up in some kind of history or be detectable in any way? I am working remotely from my home through a VPN. I would be happy to provide any additional information you might need to respond to my inquiry, excluding my identity.

IAALAIANIIDWONIABACO*

Thanks for any direction you can provide!

*I AM a lawyer and I am not interested in discussing whether or not I am breaching a confidentiality obligation.

I should clarify that I mean copying the documents, not transferring them wholesale.

Thanks.

There are programs that log this - I am not sure how common they are.

Depends upon the sophistication of your employer’s network and systems. At my company, yes those copies of files would be detected.

On a standard Windows PC with no special logging software, there is no audit trail that I know of. The trick is figuring out whether there is special logging software, it may hide itself.

Where are the documents being stored right now? If they’re on a file server or other service that the company controls, they’ll be able to see you accessing them. It’d be suspicious to see you reviewing everything you’ve ever written on one day shortly before you leave, whether they can tell you’re putting it on a flash drive or not.