Urgent Homework Help!

I’m in desperate need for some clarification on this essay question. I do not really follow politics nor have I had government in over two years either.

Contrast the role of the president and the US Senate in terms of their ability to affect the national security agendas of the United States? Which institution has more power? Why?

Thanks in advance for any answers/replies.

We don’t give homework help here, my friend. You will find your time better served doing original research, rather than refreshing this page.

The OP isn’t asking for us to do the assignment but only some insight.
That said, I’m no expert nor Ron I follow politics much either.
FWIW…the Pesident by virtue his power and resources can yeild a bit more power. However, the Senate if working as a unit can counter or make policy and over-ride a President.

Heh, I actually know this one.

Posted at 3am… let me guess, due today?

Can you clarify your request for clarification? What part of this question is giving you problems? This is a pretty straightforward question. You need to look at:

1. The President’s national security role.
  2. The Senate’s national security role.

The question is only asking you to contrast, so that’s pretty straightforward.

The second part asks for your opinion on who has more power. So long as you back up your argument with good data, I’m sure you’ll do fine.

The first step would be to go to the original source, the Constitution, and see what powers are set out for the President and for Congress (and for the Senate specifically, but most of the powers are shared between the two houses). The next step would be to dig up the history of various national security actions to see how those designated powers have actually played out. Be on the especial lookout for cases where the President and the Senate wanted different things, and who got their way (or more of their way) in those cases.