Soldier worship

Why do some people feel the need to literally venerate members of the armed forces. Correct me if I am wrong but people who join the army, navy and air force get paid for doing what they do, but some people still go on about soldiers sacrificing everything to defend the freedoms of the citizens of their nation. Just as bin men are paid to collect peoples rubbish and teachers are paid to give kids an education, soldiers are paid to fight the enemies of their nation and defend their people.

NM

Moved to IMHO (for now).

Colibri
General Questions Moderator

You really think a soldier putting his/her life on the line is even remotely equivalent to a trash collector or teacher?

As a former soldier I do think it is fairly ridiculous the amount of soldier worship that exists even though I will admit I have personally benefited from it several times. The majority of the members of the military don’t even engage in combat at all but work in support roles such as logistics, communications, etc. Members of the military do get paid, some of them very well and better than a lot of civilians and the majority of them will never see real combat or warfare. It seems to me to at least partially be some social reaction to how many soldiers were looked down on or reviled during the Vietnam War. I often hear similar “worship” from certain members of the community about police officers. I think the soldier worship does go over the top sometimes, but at the same time I dislike how many people have a prejudiced view of members of the military and assume they are all uneducated or ignorant and can’t function in the real world, while that may be true for some I don’t think it is for the majority and members of the military reflect the civilian populace and cliques in many ways. You have the dumb, alpha male jock types, the nerds and gamers, highly educated people with multiple degrees that are just trying to pay off their student loans, and people that are just doing one e