How long will cooked chicken keep in the fridge?

My friend is a bartender at this place that had a small buffet the other night (actually last Thurs.) which consisted of 2 big aluminum foil pans of (1) chicken and rice & (2)pasta shells.
Knowing I’m a poor college student, she wrapped up the very large amounts of leftovers for me. I would really hate to throw out this food (the shells I’m of course not worried about) but it’s already been 4 days and there is still so much of the chicken and rice left. Of course, in hindsight I should’ve frozen it.
Is it still safe to eat?

Too bad you didn’t freeze it.

Questions: how long was the food sitting out on the buffet? Was it kept at any certain temperature there? How long between then and the time it made its way to your fridge (for example, did your friend leave it at room temperature for several hours until she finished her shift)?

Meat (including chicken) really shouldn’t be kept in the fridge for more than 3 days before it’s eaten. As stingy as I am, I’d freeze it right this minute and then eat it anyway. What’s the worst thing that can happen?

Okay, well, you become deathly ill and even die, but you’d probably be okay- assuming you’re in good health now. A caveat: even as stingy as I am, if that chicken had been sitting at room temperature for more than an hour or so, I’d toss it in the trash. If I had any doubts as to how it was prepared (for example, if it might not have been cooked thoroughly), I’d throw it in the trash. In any case, I wouldn’t let anyone else eat it: if I kill myself through my own carelessness, fine, but I’d feel terrible if I accidentally poisoned someone else.

Let it be a lesson to you: don’t waste food by mishandling it. Poor people like us can’t afford to throw chicken away. Since it was free, though, at least you’re not out of pocket.

Well, it seems I will likely have to, reluctantly, toss it. But just to answer your questions: