Bullets in a vacuum

I recently read a book by Clive Cussler where there was a small battle on the moon and the Americans won partly by using a .22 caliber rifle. The advantage was no one could see the shots being fired and no one could hear them so nobody knew where they were coming from. It seems to me that the gun shouldn’t have been able to fire at all as there was no oxygen for the combustion to take place propelling the bullet out of the cartridge.

So, would a normal gun fire in outer space?

Also, would a gun work underwater? You see this occasionally in Hollywood, but the water in the barrel of the gun would block the bullet causing the gun to explode, wouldn’t it?

Hmmm… something tells me this is one of those that you dont quite know unless you do it, but, I will say I think the gun does fire in space or on the moon - lets say on the surface of the moon. Not that I am an expert, but bullet casings are sealed and the explosion takes place inside that little space giving you that awesome propelling force… things can burn in space… otherwise there would be no stars! I would think you could see a brief flash, but no, you wouldnt hear it thats for sure… the interesting part is (depending on your aim) the bullet path would be pretty constant due to 1/6th the gravity of earth.

As for firing underwater… ya got me… I have heard of some special guns can do this but it was just talk, no facts I know of.

Of course I could be wrong! :slight_smile:

Yes, theoperaghost, a bullet would indeed fire on the moon for the reason explained by Neobican.

But shooting on the moon would be a very, very different experience than shooting on Earth. You know that ‘kick’ you feel when you fire a gun? It’s the embodiment of Newton’s 3rd law of the conservation of energy: “For every action, there is an equal, yet opposite, reaction.”