Is nitrocellulose edible?

Does nitrocellulose have any nutritional value, and if not, does it serve any purpose in the production of other foodstuffs? Believe it or not, need answer kinda fast.

I seriously doubt it. Your body can’t digest cellulose, so I don’t think that the nitrated version would be any more accessible to your gut. Maybe if you had the appropriate intestinal flora, like cows and gorillas…

I used to work in a factory that made nitrocellulose. The stuff came out of the “dehy” bins looking and smelling like shredded coconut marinated in rubbing alcohol (the result of tiny fibers stuck together by wetting, and smelling of their last bath in isopropyl alcohol to wash off the water – dehydrating it) The isopropyl alcohol would make it unappetizing in small quantities and poisonous in large ones. Dried bitrocellulose would be incredibly flammable and explosive, and you couldn’t tempt me near it in an uncontrolled situation – I’ve been to burning demonstrations. Your best bet would be water-wet nitrocellulose, which I would imagine would be a tasteless mushy collection of glop, from which I couldn’t see you deriving any nutritional benefit.
But if you decide to try, be sure to keep your nitrocellulose wet. And bon appetite.
Dispose of your subsequent fecal matter carefully.

Can it/does it get used for feeding livestock? That would count as “valid” for my purposes.

(It’s a video game thing, in case anyone’s wondering.)

I hear you can eat it, but that it causes killer burps.

Read the end of my earlier response. If you have any undigested nitrocellulose, it can pass through the animal’s system and then you’ve got highly flammable cowflops.

You know how they used to burn dried cow chips on the prairie, because they had no or little wood for fuel? Imagine highly flammable cow chips.

This strikes me as not a good idea.